<u>A GENDA</u>

A meeting of the Heritage Preservation Commission of the City of Waxahachie, Texas to be held in the City Council Chambers/Council Conference Room, 401 S. Rogers Street, Waxahachie, TX, on **Thursday, December 8, 2022 at 5:30 p.m.**

Heritage Preservation Commission Members: Peggy Crabtree

Glinda Felty Becky Kauffman Shannon Simpson Curtiss Thompson Michelle Haye

Jacqueline Montejano

Planning & Zoning Commission Liaison: Bonney Ramsey

Heritage Preservation Officer: Anita Simpson

City Council Liaison: Patrick Souter

1. Call to Order

- 2. Public Comments: Persons may address the Heritage Preservation Commission on any issues. This is the appropriate time for citizens to address the Heritage Preservation Commission on any concern whether on this agenda or not. In accordance with the State of Texas Open Meetings Act, the Heritage Preservation Commission may not comment or deliberate such statements during this period, except as authorized by Section 551.042, Texas Government Code.
- 3. Approve the minutes of the meetings held October 13, 2022 and November 10, 2022
- 4. Consider Certificate of Appropriateness for 101 S. College
- 5. Consider sign permit application for 109 N. Rogers
- 6. Consider approval of renewal HT tax exemption applications
- 7. Consider previously denied HT tax exemption applications
- 8. Comments by Commission members and Heritage Preservation Officer
- 9. Adjourn

This meeting location is wheelchair-accessible. Parking for mobility impaired persons is available. Any request for sign interpretive services must be made forty-eight hours ahead of the meeting. To make arrangements, call the City Secretary at 469/309-4005 or (TDD) 1-800-RELAY TX.

Notice of Potential Quorum

One or more members of the Waxahachie City Council may be present at this meeting.

No action will be taken by the City Council at this meeting.

MINUTES

A meeting of the **Heritage Preservation Commission** of the City of Waxahachie, Texas was held in the City Council Chambers at City Hall, 401 S. Rogers on **Thursday, October 13, 2022** at **5:30 p.m.**

Heritage Preservation Commission Members present: Peggy Crabtree

Glinda Felty Becky Kauffman Shannon Simpson Curtiss Thompson Jacqueline Montejano

Planning & Zoning Commission Liaison: Bonney Ramsey

Heritage Preservation Officer:

Anita Simpson

City Council Liaison: Patrick Souter

Guests: Charity Fitch, Chris Wright, Amy Borders,

John Hamilton, David Hudgins, Amy Gilbert,

Gina Murtagh

1. Call to Order

Peggy Crabtree called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

2. Public Comments

None made

3. Reorganize the Commission

Becky Kauffman nominated Peggy to serve as Chair. Glinda Felty seconded the motion. All ayes. Becky Kauffman nominated Glinda Felty to serve as Vice-Chair. Shannon Simpson seconded the motion. All ayes.

4. Approve minutes of meeting held September 8, 2022

Glinda Felty made a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting held on September 8, 2022. The motion was seconded by Becky Kauffman. **All ayes.**

5. Consider Certificate of Appropriateness for 202 S. Elm

Becky Kauffman stated that the art installation on the façade of the property was kind of cool and wonderful and a personal expression; it seems to fit what is there. Shannon Simpson agreed that it is interesting and it can be reversed—the building has not been compromised by the art pieces. Jacqueline Montejano also expressed approval of the art. Becky Kauffman made a motion to approve the Certificate of Appropriateness for 202 S. Elm. Shannon Simpson seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

6. Hear presentation on Ellis County Museum project

John Hamilton addressed the Commission and said the presentation they were showing is similar to one that was given at the annual museum meeting. After that meeting County Judge Little asked museum

representatives to give the presentation to the Commissioner's Court and include the videos of before and after. Judge Little also requested the presentation be given to the Heritage Preservation Commission and that one of the members attend the County Commissioner's Court meeting when it is given to that group. Peggy Crabtree, HPC Chair, will attend that meeting in November to represent the Commission.

7. Comments by Commission members and Heritage Preservation Officer

Becky Kauffman suggested additional displays at the Ellis County Museum that represent cities other than Waxahachie.

8. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 5:55 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Anita Simpson

MINUTES

A meeting of the **Heritage Preservation Commission** of the City of Waxahachie, Texas was held in the City Council Chambers/Conference Room at City Hall, 401 S. Rogers on **Thursday, November 10, 2022** at **5:30 p.m.**

Heritage Preservation Commission Members present: Peggy Crabtree

Glinda Felty Becky Kauffman Shannon Simpson Curtiss Thompson Michelle Haye Jacqueline Montejano

Planning & Zoning Commission Liaison: Bonney Ramsey

City Council Liaison: Patrick Souter

Heritage Preservation Officer: Anita Simpson

Guests: Chris Wright, David Hill, Charity Fitch

1. Call to Order

Peggy Crabtree called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

2. Public Comments

None made

3. Approve minutes of meeting held October 13, 2022

Anita told the Commission she had neglected to include the board reorganization information in the minutes up for consideration. She will amend them and the board can consider their approval at the December meeting.

4. Consider Certificate of Appropriateness for 101 S. College

The Commission began to discuss the COA and since there were questions regarding the application and no representative for the project present to answer them they decided to table the Certificate of Appropriateness for 101 S. College. Michelle Haye made the motion and Becky Kauffman seconded. **All ayes.**

5. Consider approval of renewal HT tax exemption applications

The following properties were reviewed by the Commission:

411 Bird Lane	802 Brown	113 N. College	503 N. College
507 N. College	509 N. College	203 S. College	204 S. Elm
503 Ferris	215 W. Franklin	512 N. Grand	617 N. Grand
103 Greenbrier	310 Harbin	207 S. Hawkins	209 S. Hawkins
214 S. Hawkins	106 S. Jackson	607 W. Jefferson	1112 W. Jefferson
124 Kaufman	616 Kaufman	622 Kaufman	626 Kaufman
110 E. Main	711 W. Main	809 W. Main	813 W. Main
817 W. Main	903 W. Main	905 W. Main	1030 W. Main
1203 W. Main	1500 W. Main	1210 Martha	617 E. Marvin

902 E. Marvin	1101 E. Marvin	1201 E. Marvin	1301 E. Marvin
1201 W. Marvin	422 MLK Blvd	303 Matthews	201 Richmond
110 Trinity	301 E. University	326 W. University	206 Virginia
307 Virginia	405 Williams	111 Wilmington	

Becky Kauffman made a motion to **approve** the above properties for the 2023 HT exemption. Glinda Felty seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

6. Consider approval of new HT tax exemption applications

Recommended for approval

421 S. College 302 Harbin 1005 W. Main 109 N. Rogers

700 S. Rogers 128 Virginia

Recommended for denial

303 Cynisca—denied in 2009; redenied for radically altered façade, porch columns

110 Kaufman—porch columns, door

1214 W. Main—radically altered façade, added turret

119 W. University—porch posts, windows

Becky Kauffman made a motion to take the recommended actions for the above properties for the 2023 tax year. Shannon Simpson seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

7. Comments by Commission members and Heritage Preservation Officer

Anita distributed copies of the new version of the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation and Illustrated Guidelines for Rehabilitating Historic Properties to all Commission members and city council members present.

8. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 6:21 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Anita Simpson