MINUTES

A meeting of the **Heritage Preservation Commission** of the City of Waxahachie, Texas was held in the City Council Conference Room at City Hall, 401 S. Rogers on **Thursday, December 9, 2021** at **5:30 p.m.**

Heritage Preservation Commission Members present: Peggy Crabtree

Glinda Felty Becky Kauffman Shannon Simpson Curtiss Thompson

Jeff Smith Michelle Haye

Planning & Zoning Commission Liaison: Bonney Ramsey

Heritage Preservation Officer: Anita Simpson

City Council Liaison: Billie Wallace

1. Call to Order

Becky Kauffman called the meeting to order at 5:31 p.m.

2. Public Comments

None made

3. Approve minutes of meeting held October 14, 2021

Becky Kauffman made a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting held on October 14, 2021. The motion was seconded by Shannon Simpson. **All ayes** with the exception of Jeff Smith who abstained because he was not at the October meeting.

4. Consider approval of renewal HT tax exemption applications

The following properties were reviewed by the Commission:

411 Bird Lane	201 Brown	407 Brown	900 Bryson
111 N. College	113 N. College	503 N. College	507 N. College
509 N. College	203 S. College	211 S. College	204 S. Elm
503 Ferris	1015 Ferris	109 E. Franklin	215 W. Franklin
420 W. Franklin	512 N. Grand	613 N. Grand	101 Greenbrier
105 Greenbrier	205 Harbin	211 Harbin	110 S. Hawkins
207 S. Hawkins	209 S. Hawkins	106 S. Jackson	417 W. Jefferson
527 W. Jefferson	607 W. Jefferson	1112 W. Jefferson	622 Kaufman
626 Kaufman	204 La Vista	110 E. Main	422 E. Main (MLK)
704 W. Main	711 W. Main	813 W. Main	814 W. Main
817 W. Main	905 W. Main	1020 W. Main	1203 W. Main
1500 W. Main	617 E. Marvin	902 E. Marvin	1101 E. Marvin
1105 E. Marvin	1301 E. Marvin	615 W. Marvin	1115 W. Marvin
1201 W. Marvin	1203 W. Marvin	303 Matthews	401 N. Monroe
304 Oldham	309 Oldham	400 Oldham	401 Oldham
407 Oldham	408 Oldham	205 Overhill	407 W. Parks
239 Patrick	201 Richmond	615 N. Rogers	619 N. Rogers
301 S. Rogers	606 Sycamore	610 Sycamore	808 Sycamore

1301 Sycamore	110 Trinity	301 E. University	327 E. University
326 W. University	102 Vassar	121 Virginia	307 Virginia
405 Williams	600 Williams	-	_

Becky Kauffman made a motion to **approve** the above properties for the 2022 HT exemption. Glinda Felty seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

206 S. Hawkins—windows on side porch replaced with inappropriate vinyl windows 605 W. Main—inappropriate full glass window on corner of house; should be multi-pane

Michelle Haye made a motion to **deny** the applications for the above properties. Jeff Smith seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

```
310-312 S. College—upper story windows above entrance doors 502 W. Main—front door
```

Jeff Smith made a motion to **table** the applications for the above properties pending closer examination of them. Michelle Haye seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

5. Consider approval of new HT tax exemption applications

The following properties were reviewed by the Commission:

203 Bryson, 1209 W. Main

Becky Kauffman made a motion to **approve** the above properties for the 2022 HT exemption. Jeff Smith seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

625 Dunn—new door, new windows, inappropriate porch posts 1404 W. Main—denied in 2005 and again 2022; upper window and side addition to porch

Jeff Smith made a motion to **deny** the above properties for the 2022 HT exemption. Curtiss Thompson seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

110 Kirven—cannot see if front door is appropriate

Glinda Felty made a motion to **table** the above property pending further inspection. Jeff Smith seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

6. Comments by Commission members and Heritage Preservation Officer

Anita told the board there were copies of the Residential Design Guidelines for them to take and an updated board list. Shannon reminded everyone of the book signing on December 16th from 5-8 pm for the Waxahachie Architectural Guidebook. Peggy alerted the group of a Chautauqua work day being organized by the Rotary Club and hoped some of them would participate. She will let us know when a date has been set.

7. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made by Shannon Simpson and seconded by Becky Kauffman. **All ayes.** Meeting adjourned at 6:17 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Anita Simpson